Old Mutual Spirit of Comrades Roll of Honour

More than 60 recipients have been bestowed with the coveted Spirit of Comrades Award since the flagship awards gala of the Comrades Marathon was initiated in 1996. It is a big honour to bestow on any individual.

Among the inspiring awardees are Comrades Marathon Association volunteers, runners, winners, brand ambassadors, doctors and running club administrators among others.

With less than four days to the closing of submissions for the nomination process, the CMA has made a final call for Comrades Marathon runners, supporters and the public at large to nominate their Comrades do-gooder for the upcoming Old Mutual Spirit of Comrades Awards.

The final date for nominations is Tuesday, 31 July 2018. Nominations have been coming in thick and fast with some incredible individuals having been put forth for the esteemed accolade.

CMA Chairperson, Cheryl Winn says, “Together with the CMA’s major sponsor, Old Mutual, we look forward to celebrating the best amongst us who embody the indomitable Spirit of Comrades. We are very aware that the Comrades Marathon remains the ultimate road-running event, thanks to the support and passion of all South Africans.”

Winn adds, over the years, it has been an honour for the CMA to bestow the Spirit of Comrades Award on such inspiring people who have showcased their love for The Ultimate Human Race. We aim to ensure that the most deserving candidates are nominated and selected for this grand acknowledgement.

The Old Mutual Spirit of Comrades Award is presented to a maximum of three outstanding individuals annually. Please click through to http://www.comrades.com/home-about/spirit-of-comrades and submit your nomination before 31 July 2018.

Photo: 2017 Old Mutual Spirit of Comrades Awards

1996 Denis Tabakin
  Gavin Elliott
  John Wright (Dr)
1997 Wally Hayward*
  Liege Boulle*
1998 Sam Tshabalala
  Percy Dunn
1999 Bruce Fordyce
  Don Oliver
2000 Jackie Mekler
  Alan Robb
2001 Vreni Welch
  Donovan Wright
2002 Manie Kuhn*
  Tommy Malone
  Anonymous Aids Runner
2003 Pat Boyall
  Anthony Farr
  Johnny Demas
2004 Jetman Msutu
  Carl Peatfield
  Zeb Luhabe
2005 Frith Van Der Merwe
  Lucas Nonyana
  Zwelitsha Gono
2006 Paul Dolman *
  Henk Meyer
  Brian Goddard
2007 Richard Whitehead
  Paul Selby
  Val Wilkinson
2008 Mark Bloomfield
  Kenny Craig
  Riel Hugo
* Deceased